Calling all lost library books!

Standard

Summer doesn’t just mean Books on Bikes. It also means lots of fancy librarian things – like inventory, space re-configuration, collection development, and material maintenance and replacement.  In order to keep our collection in the very best shape for the Johnson community, we need your help! None of these critical library jobs can be completed unless all of Johnson’s library books are found and returned to school.

Today is the deadline for student library books to be returned for the 2015-2016 school year. So to help this along, I hopped onto this morning’s announcements to lead a school-wide desk check for any stubborn lost library books. Under papers, behind binders, covered in candy wrappers, under chairs… out from everywhere they came! Thirty minutes later, I had more than 150 library books happily snuggling in the book return.

It just goes to show – your library books could be hiding right under your nose! This afternoon, I will be printing and sending lost and overdue notices for all of the books that haven’t made their way home yet. Please watch your child’s backpack and folder for a notice. If you find one, that means one or more stowaway library books are hiding somewhere in your home. Make it a challenge to find them and bring them back as soon as possible!

It wasn’t that long ago that I was a kid in elementary school trying to track down my library books, and get the nerve to return them – gulp – late to my beloved librarian. So I know that library books go missing for all kinds of mysterious reasons. Never fear, my friends! We are currently accepting…

“…oops, I still have this?!” books

“…is that chocolate syrup??” books

“…how long has this been in the car?!” books

“…but my dog chewed on the corner!” books

“…I loved it so much I didn’t want to bring it back!” books

“…I accidentally left it on the playground…” books

“…my baby sister drew in it.” books

“…oh, does this belong to you?” books

and even “…we’ve been using this one as a doorstop” books.

If you’ve got it, we want it. 🙂

If you are experiencing financial difficulty, we can work together to find a plan that works for your family. Just contact me via phone or email. I am happy to work with you to find a solution that’s best for everyone!

Library books need to be returned, paid for, or replaced by the last day of school. According to our online records, 102 Johnson students still have one or more library books checked out from our library! That’s a lot of lonely books looking to come home.

Our library program depends on your support. We can’t do it without you! Thank you for your support in keeping our library collection full and our library program strong.

 

Leave a Reply

