Student Spotlight: Meredith, Second Grade

Standard

DSC02092

Welcome to a new series for the Learning Leopard Library blog – Student Spotlight. Check out Student Spotlight posts to learn more about some of the students that make the Johnson Elementary School Library so awesome!

 Today, we will spotlight Meredith, a second grade student at Johnson.

Meredith is in the spotlight because last Thursday, she was the librarian for half a day! She was the winner of one of my Silent Auction items up for bid at the Johnson PTO Bingo Night and Silent Auction. Meredith’s family made an awesome donation to the Johnson Elementary School PTO that will benefit Johnson teachers, students, and families – AND she got to run the library for an entire afternoon! Talk about a win-win!

DSC02096
DSC02111

DSC02098
DSC02091
I sat down with Meredith to learn more about her, how she liked being a librarian, and whether the whirlwind experience was what she expected.

Why did you want to be a librarian for half a day?

Because I think you’re really funny and really nice and I like being with you. And I like being in the library. Library and P.E. are my favorite specials.

Are you having fun being a librarian?

Definitely!

What is your favorite part?

Either working with the classes or being with you.

Is it harder than you’d thought?

Not really. [Editor’s note: I’ll try not to take that personally ;)]

What is your favorite grade to teach so far?

Fourth grade becasue I get to see my class everyday, but it’s fun to see other people that I don’t know yet. And they’re listening to me! One kid asked me a question just so he could say hi to me. I just told him good question!

If you could do any job in the school, what would it be?

P.E. teacher or library teacher!

What do you want to do when you grow up?

I want to be a chef because as long as I’ve been cooking with my mom, I’ve had a lot of fun. I think it’s really fun!

Could you ever see yourself being a librarian?

Yes! Because I like books and kids. I could see myself being a librarian because it looks like a lot of fun. I could just teach the kids lessons.

Would you like to give your classmates a clue about what’s in the mystery of my office?

Yes – there are Lego people back there!

Below, check out some photos of Meredith on the job. She’s a natural!

DSC02105DSC02106DSC02099

DSC02103

Thank you to Meredith for spending the afternoon helping out in the library. Another huge thank you to the Johnson PTO for setting up such an awesome event and bringing the Johnson community even closer together.

Leave a Reply

